Takin’ My Marbles and Goin’ Home…


Well folks, things have been decided, both by me, (and in an odd twist this past week) for me, due to certain circumstances I won’t go into here, (I may later but that’s another post) but what I will say right now is that I’m fine with it.

Being done, I mean.

I’m burned out, shelled, toasted, roasted, and utterly exhausted with trying to get ahead in this crazy hotshot business. And it’s time to stop throwing away good effort after bad. Not to mention the constant and overwhelming outflow of money involved…

I went over my books and considering what I have owed to me, what I have tucked away in my piggy bank, and what the equipment should bring once it’s liquidated, I think we did pretty well to come out a little bit ahead.

Aspiring hotshots, note that last run-on sentence, three years of working every available job, scrounging loads any which-way, and between living and operating expenses we have a little nest egg (and I mean pretty little considering) for all of this life-interrupting work I’ve done in the past three years.

So as a life experience, maybe it was worth it.

It was interesting, maddening, sometimes downright scary, and almost always challenging. It had it’s moments, and I did get to see a lot of the country I didn’t get around to visiting before I started hotshotting…

But… As a profitable venture, looking at the bottom line, it’s not really worth anywhere near the sweat, blood, and tears I have invested. Not to mention the money. Spent money, I mean. I’m not joking when I say this is an expensive business to be in, it’s a money-eating-machine.

Fact is, I could have saved up considerably more cash in three years of working a regular person type job, say, 20 hours a week at Wal-Mart, with regular days off, not having to be on-call for weekends, nights, and holidays, and getting a lot more rest and family time to boot.

So, starting this week, I’m edging my way out of the whole pitiful mess.

Oh heck with that edging out nonsense, I’m bailing out of this insane business as fast as I can.

I’ll still prowl around the old blog here to answer any questions that may come up, and will be happy to give you the straight dope on what hotshotting is all about, I just won’t be actively participating in hauling, arranging, managing, or any other-ing you can think of.

A friend of mine put it really well, saying she figured this business would “eat me alive.”

After three full years of dealing with the ups and downs and goofy curveballs it tends to throw, and trying everything literally under the sun to make it profitable and consistent, I have to agree, there’s just nothing left of me that I want to continue to invest in what has been like a never-ending ride on the crazy train.

So I’m jerking hard on the cord, stoppin’ the train, and getting the h-e-double-toothpicks off before it gets so far down the track that I can’t remember how to get back again.

Instead of continuing to deal with daily frustration, drivers who screw up, don’t show up on time, pull stupid stunts that get me hollered at, piss of my customers, whine when they don’t like the work they get and whine when they don’t get work, or just plain make me crazy, I’ll be happily doing, well, just what ever it is I happen to want to do, when I feel like doing it, no apologies, and definitely no regrets!

So there you have it, I’m vacating this little playground, takin’ my little bag of marbles and goin’ home. And it’s about time.

That’s all I’ve got…

2 thoughts on “Takin’ My Marbles and Goin’ Home…

  1. To bad the hot shot deal did not work out for you. I certainly understand what you have to put up with when you have “employees” that whine about everything, good or bad. I really enjoy the honesty in your comments. Good luck, thanks for all of the insight.

  2. Thanks, hope this has helped, or will help someone. And it’s not really that hotshotting “didn’t work out for me” it’s more that I’m just not inclined to keep putting effort into something that is no longer fun in any way, shape, or form, for me. Guess that’s splitting hairs, but then again I guess it’s all in how you look at it.

Leave a Reply

