Thank God It’s Friday!


As fast as this week flew by, and with all we got accomplished, I’m ready to sleep in a little in the morning and just have a bit of a weekend already.

Shifting gears as in going from independent hotshot carrier to a terminal manager for an established company brings a lot of busy work with it that I simply didn’t have before. So while there was a lot going on, it was also kinda nice to stay steadily busy. In the old days (a month ago..) I would have been sitting here stewing over not having loads and trying to figure out how to make them materialize out of thin air.

No such worries now, instead I’m more worried we won’t have enough trucks to keep up with the volume of work I expect will start up on Monday and continue until, well, whenever.

And yes, I know I’m being optimistic, but I believe in what I’m doing, so that makes it easier for me to stay on the positive side of things instead of being the grumpy butt I was turning into before this opportunity came along.

So much for the philosophical side of the week, which I barely had time to think about until after the clock ran out tonight, because the practical application of all the new information and skills I’m learning kept me hopping right along.

And I actually got things done that needed done, pretty much when they needed done, and managed to do them (mostly) correctly. And that’s OK with me since I already know I’m in the learning curve stage of this new venture. Close may not count in horseshoes and hand grenades, but when you’re learning a new job, close sure does count!

The things I didn’t get right the first time didn’t slow me down too much, the folks walking me through this just pointed out where I went astray and gave me another try, with no drama involved, so it was a good (and as stress-less as it could be) experience. And I’m starting to get the hang of how this process goes.

I’ll take that as a good week and consider it time well spent, and I think I’ll even call it decent progress.

So what was I doing all week, you might well be wondering, so I’ll tell you…

I spent the week wading through piles of paperwork that’s involved in getting owner/ops set up, approved, and ready to roll, did a couple of interviews of potential said owner/ops, making visits to potential customers and handing out goodies & business cards to start the train rolling, and last, but not least, poking around in the computer software we’ll be using for load booking & tracking.

And after all of that I at least feel like I can take a load order, get it correctly into the system, get one of my guys on it, and keep the paperwork straight so everybody gets paid.

I guess an old dog can learn a few new tricks after all, I seem to be catching on… Stay tuned, I’ll let you know how it progresses once we are moving loads, hopefully this next week…

Leave a Reply

