Dogwood Trees and Little Mountains…


One of the best things about hotshot trucking (or probably any version of trucking) is the opportunity to see neat places while out there buzzing around.  I mentioned dogwood trees and pretty scenery yesterday, but I neglected to post any pictures yesterday, so I’m fixing that today.

On my way home I got a picture of a dogwood tree peeking out of the forest, which to my eyes is just about as pretty as anything can be.  This particular tree was on Highway 270 in western Arkansas near the Oklahoma border…

2013-04-22 10.10.53

And because I’m a native Coloradoan, and have spent most of my life being a “mountain snob,” it seems appropriate to include this photo of the mountain ridge running south of Highway 1 east of Talihina, Oklahoma.  I understand the attitude that if it isn’t snow-capped and naked above the tree line, then it is a hill.

But looking at this picture, and seeing that nice ridge line, I have to make the honest observation that there’s at least as much elevation difference here as in the Yampa Valley near Craig, Colorado, which is considered sorta mountainous.  (Actually it’s in the hillier region west of the big mountains but okay, locals there consider them mountains too…)

2013-04-22 12.07.27

About 10 miles or so to the northeast of this particular spot, I topped a mountain at about 1450 feet.  When I dropped down into the valley where Highway 1 intersects about 3-4 miles down the road, (and there is an interesting JFK Memorial) the elevation was about 900 feet.  That’s a pretty good elevation change, and apparently some of the mountains in the area hit 2400 feet, so I’m officially revising my formerly held opinion that Oklahoma doesn’t have real mountains.  The evidence says it does, even sans snow-caps…

If you don’t believe it, take yourself on a little drive through the southeast corner of Oklahoma someday and make sure you run Highway 259 from Heavener in the north down to Broken Bow in the south, which makes for a very scenic and drive through the Winding Stair Mountains and then through the Ouachitas, and if you’re a lake person you can also visit Broken Bow Lake and Beaver’s Bend State Park on the south end of the drive.

Leave a Reply

