Learning Something New Every Day…


Alrighty then, I went ahead and filed (and paid) our taxes for 2012.

I know, I said I was going to wait until the last minute, but in retrospect I’m glad I did it today.  Thanks to TurboTax I was able to get the whole mess filed electronically, and I like the idea that it’s done and gone for this filing season.

Getting payments out was a little more challenging but it finally dawned on me how to juggle the money around to get it done.

To complicate matters this mess coincided with our usual “middle of the month” payments on our normal bills, along with the last vestiges of a migrane/sinus headache that hit me yesterday and I thought I had licked last night, but that snuck back up on me this morning.

So it’s stretched me pretty thin both financially and brain-wise, as it’s stressed me out beyond belief, let me tell you, but it does appear we’ll survive it.

At least I think we will… Thank goodness…

But wait!  I learned something new today!  I can’t wait to share it with you!

Guess what!  When you turn a profit for the first year and get to pay taxes, after you’re finished with last year’s mess, you also get vouchers to start paying this year’s taxes in advance.  To sweeten the deal, guess what the due date for the first quarterly estimated tax payment is….  Yup, Tomorrow, April 15!  It’s all due on that special day we already hold so dear…

Who knew!

At any rate, I hadn’t planned for that little surprise, so needless to say it took me a few minutes to wrap my head around where that particular payment was going to come from, as I was just planning for what I already knew we needed to pay in.

Yikes.  But I got it figured out once the shock wore off.  I do not, repeat, do not want any late payment penalties, nor do I want to lock horns with that particular bull (the IRS) if you get my point…

So yep, I learned something new today, and it’s not upsetting (aside from the unexpected nature of the beast) since it will simplify my dash for cash next tax filing season as most of it (or all depending on how busy this year gets) will be paid in advance.

I’m gonna look at it as a win-win.  The IRS gets their cut and I’m in proper compliance, plus I get a little breather until this time next year.

I don’t think dealing with government entities gets much better than that.

2 thoughts on “Learning Something New Every Day…

Leave a Reply

