Hotshot… Not!


One of my biggest pet peeves in the trucking industry is when people who offer non-hotshot services try to package what they do as being hotshots.

Either you is, or you ain’t.

It’s that simple.

And today I was the lucky recipient of not just one, but two telephone calls from one particular outfit with a number listed in the Pensacola, Florida, area.  They tried to get me to sign up with them for hotshot work.

Now, I’m not one to just sneer at an offer of work, but I’m no dummy either, so my first questions was… “So what kind of hotshot cargo are we talking about?”

Her reply… “Horse and utility trailers.”

Well, I’ve been there and done that, so I tried on the first go-round to explain to the lady that what she’s describing is definitely not hotshotting, and that unless she has oil field loads, it never will be.  What she’s peddling is trailer hauling, which, if you put a brokerage in the middle of the mess, won’t pay diddly-squat.

I’m not sure if she understood what I was trying to tell her, but she sort of hung up quick.

It wasn’t 5 minutes before my phone started ringing again, showing the same Pensacola phone number.  So I decided to have even more fun and did answer it…

What I got was exactly the same woman repeating exactly the same thing she had just said to me a few minutes before.  So I stopped her and explained that now she’d gone and called me back, to which she said, “Do you have two numbers?”  “No,” says I, “I only have one phone number and it’s the exact same one you just called a few moments ago if you didn’t notice it.  Besides, I’m glad you called back, because you didn’t seem to get what I was trying to explain to you about hotshots, what you’re talking about is definitely not hotshotting.  If you tell people up front you’re starting up a power-only trailer delivery service you might have better luck.”

She hung up on me again.

Not that it made any difference, but I felt it was my duty as a hotshot to get the point across to her that hauling trailers is not what hotshots do.  Sure, we do it on occasion when there’s nothing else moving, or we do it to get started in the trucking business, but it’s still not hotshot work.  It’s trailer hauling, nothing more, nothing less.

Just to reiterate my main point here, trucking involves a lot of specialty areas, and hotshotting is just one of the many, and yes, it is a very specific and specialized service that starts and ends in the oil and gas exploration service arena.

Anything else is whatever it is, but it’s definitely not hotshotting.

Any questions?

Leave a Reply

