Hotshot Startup in Our Bad Economy? Probably Not…


 

Good morning readers!  I woke up this morning to news that confirmed what my own personal economic slowdown had already told me… the economy is in sad shape and it’s really affecting my bottom line.

The local newspaper just ran a headline story on layoffs at one of the oil / gas industry manufacturing plants in my little berg and blame it on the decrease in gas exploration in the United States.  This is particularly distressing to me, as I just found the broker who handles their loads and got signed up with them last month.

Lousy timing!

So what’s a hotshot girl to do?

I’ll tell you what I’m doing… constantly calling my established contacts, knocking on doors, making cold calls, and generally hitting every available option to keep my little truck rolling.

And it’s not easy.

So what do I tell someone who wants to get started hotshotting in this economy?

My best possible advice is… keep your day job if you have one!  I’m not trying to be discouraging, but in this climate getting started is going to be even more difficult than it has been in the past couple of years, and it wasn’t easy then.

Now is not the time to jump into any form of trucking as not only is manufacturing down, but retail sales are slow and that’s hitting the big truck side of things equally hard.  Loads of any size are getting harder to find.

Let me put it this way… unless you’re already in the game with a great reputation and track record, as well as good contacts and relationships with brokers and manufacturers, getting your foot in the door right now is going to be next to impossible.  The guys (and gals!) who are established are all out there scraping up every potential load and not leaving any crumbs for the wannabe newbie.

It’s a sad fact that just like in nearly every other industry, even energy related jobs are getting harder to find and even harder to keep.

This is not good news for any of us, but it’s a reality we have to deal with, like it or not.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

