Trying to Kick it up a Notch…


One of my biggest concerns about hotshot trucking is the mercurial nature of the beast.  It’s either feast or famine, as I’ve lamented on previous occasions, and it’s frustrating when famine hits.  Which it has here lately, with the exception of two good loads last week.

This week, nada dang load in sight.  I’m used to the roller coaster of either having no work or too much work, but that doesn’t mean I have to let this crazy cycle continue.

Overall, that’s not to say that we’re not getting enough business to be profitable, we are.

We’re just not as profitable as we could be, which every business owner usually sets as their ultimate goal.  And it is mine as well.  I want to stay busy and not have these typical lulls in business that hit somewhere in the middle of just about every month.

I don’t like them.  At all.  They annoy me.

Now, this means in no uncertain terms I have to find a way to shake loose more steady work, which has been my pet project this week.  I won’t bore you with the details until/unless this beating the brush actually results in a more predictable pattern for booked loads, but suffice it to say I’m trying something a little different.

I’ll let you know how that goes…

Leave a Reply

