Home for the Weekend…


After a week of running, I’m home for the entire weekend.  And it’s a good thing too, as I had 4 hours left on my log book when I pulled into the driveway Thursday night so I needed a reset before I head off anywhere else very far away anyway.

I managed to scoot along and logged just about 2500 miles this week, having been to New Orleans, LA, Aubrey, Mt. Pleasant, and Pleasanton, Texas, then home again.

As it turns out, it was one of my best weeks so far, mileage-wise.  And it was relatively a stress-free week as well.  I love it when that happens!

Also, as it turns out, it’s a good weekend to be at home and not out on the road, as there is a freezing rain forecast for tomorrow night, which I don’t want or need to be out slip-sliding around on. If it’s anything like our last ice storm in January, I may be here for a few days while it’s melting off.  On the other hand, if it doesn’t hit us here, I’ll be recharged and ready to get back on the road next week.

Rumor has it that I may be heading out to San Diego on Tuesday, but things can and do change dramatically, so I’ll have to wait and see… I could also end up in Timbuctoo or who knows where just as easily.  That’s one of the things I like about this business, things change on a daily basis, and no two days are very much alike.

Sometimes things just work out the way a person wants them to, and this week they did for me.  I’m happy to be home, happy to have gotten in a productive week with plenty of miles, happy to have seen some new and interesting territory, and happy to have the entire weekend to recharge, relax, and just hang out with BB and the critters.

And to think I actually get paid to do this…

Leave a Reply

