Battling the Doldrums…


Although good jobs have been coming in they haven’t exactly been steady.  Now, I’m not complaining, just giving a realistic view into how long it actually takes to build a good customer base and get work lined up on a steady basis.

One of the challenges of this business and getting started is maintaining a good outlook and keeping sane on those days when nobody calls, no loads are booked, and worry starts to get the better of me.  This is one of those days.  Actually, it’s been one of those weeks.

So I have to remind myself that not very long ago, I was running 6 days a week and not getting very much ahead.  Now, when I do book a load and run, it’s for a much better payoff.  And I have plenty of home time on my hands to get things done around here.  But still, I’d like to get to the point where people are calling at least a few times a week with more  jobs!

I know, it’s an evolutionary process and it does not happen overnight… still, some days it does sort of get me down.  Like today.  I’ve got two brokers and one direct customer who should be ringing my phone off the hook, and it’s silence.  Deafening silence.  But then again, the same thing happened about this time last month.

Which is another facet to this business.  It seems when it rains, it pours, and the rainy times seem to be about the middle to the end of the month for me.  Then there’s a dead period for a week or two after the end of the month rush.

Invariably, when someone does call, the others will also call and I’ll have to decide which run to take and turn the others down.  And that’s usually on a first-come basis.  I hate turning down work but what do you do?  At this point I have one truck and one driver, moi, and I can’t be in two places at one time.  And there is no way I can put on a second truck yet, so I just have to do what I can and try not to sweat over missing loads that might come in while I’m out running.

At any rate, I’ll just have to find something to do around here to keep me from getting too worried, and keep my mind busy until things break loose again.  Which I’m sure they will, it just stinks having to go through this every month.

Really, I’m not complaining… just mucking my way through another case of the doldrums the best I can.

2 thoughts on “Battling the Doldrums…

  1. Sue,
    Has the thought of farming out the work to another hot-shotter ever occurred to you? While I was in the livery business (limousines) we always established relationships with independent operators even though we had a fleet of close to 100 vehicles. It was usually during the Hollywood award events when we needed to “farm out” work in order not to turn work away.
    I fully understand you not being able to invest in another truck due to the additional costs not to mention having to drum up even more business in order to break even “and” make a profit.

    As for establishing new accounts, is it possible to hire someone on a commission basis to seek additional clients? Based on your blogs, you’d make a very good candidate but then again, I’m sure you are already do that.

    Cheers for So. Cal,
    Joe

  2. You must be reading my mind… I’m looking into just that very type of work trading arrangement with my friends who also do trucking. I hadn’t thought about hiring anyone to do marketing, but that might be an idea! I’ll have to look into that. Thanks Joe!

Leave a Reply

