Not So Fast, Toots…


Oh brother!  Talk about dangling the proverbial carrot…

After all of the apparent dithering around with the authority paperwork, it appears my company info has not been updated on the SAFER site.  Which is the site the insurance companies use to post your insurance certifications.

So… yet another call to FMCSA to find out what it will take to get this stuff finalized.

Anyway, the lady with whom I spoke was as nice as could be (they all have been so far) and she checked into it for me.  As it turns out, the name change is final on my DOT number, but was not done on my MC number.  Who woulda thunk?

Evidently, there are numerous avenues to the same information and all of them must be covered.  So I was once again instructed to fax my request and info to a different department, this time the licensing department.  Which I promptly did using my new fax machine.

But only after struggling to get it to work correctly.  A quick read through the instruction booklet that came with the fax put me on the right track and I got it adjusted, and the fax was finally sent successfully.

Whew!

I guess the moral of this story is that if you are planning to put in for your motor carrier authority, prepare to go through a lot of steps.  And unfortunately, there is no single resource or list that will give you a map from point A to point Z in the process.

Someone at the FMCSA should make a checklist for us novice registrants to follow.  Of course, they don’t have one, and I’m so confused at this point as to where I’ve been, and didn’t leave a cookie crumb trail to find my way back through the red-tape obstacle course, so I’m afraid I’m not much help.

Not today anyway.

Now that that particular cat is out of the bag, I’m going to go do something worthwhile and give myself a permanent wave.  I’ll let you know how that turns out.

 

 

Leave a Reply

