Home For a Reset


After running hard all week it’s time for my reset.  For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a mandatory 34 hour period off duty that re-starts the time we’re allowed to drive in a 6 or 7 day period.

It looks like some changes may be on the horizon.  I can’t say much about it yet, but they will be changes for the better.

I had an interesting trip up and back to Parachute.  The trip up was uneventful but the scenery did my heart good.  I do miss the mountains sometimes and it was really pretty going up the back way through Moab.

On the way home, I got back into Cortez about the time the snow blew in, then it turned to rain, which was pretty fierce between Cortez and Shiprock.  South of Shiprock was clear sailing until I got to the north side of Gallup, then all heck broke loose.

It was nearly sunset, the temperature dropped from about 36 degrees down to 31, and it started snowing and blowing hard, so I whipped into a motel and put myself off duty for the night.

I’m really glad I did, as about half an hour after I checked into the motel the real storm hit.  It was rain, then freezing rain, then about 3 inches of snow and the wind was just whipping it around.  It was a fast moving storm though, and when I got up this morning the sun was out and the roads were starting to clear.

By about 10 am I decided it had warmed up enough to make it safe to get back out there, but first I had to brush 3 inches of snow off of both the truck and the trailer.  Let me just say that it takes a good while to get that snow off the 40′ flatbed trailer!

Note to self… put a darned push broom on the truck!

I finally got rolling about 11 am and the roads were just fine.  I ran as fast as the law allows and made it home just before 10 pm, and only stopped twice along the way for a short break.

I supposedly have another load heading to Cheyenne on Thursday, but haven’t gotten a confirmation yet.  Have to check that in the morning.  Heaven knows I need to keep running!

But for now I’m just going to call it a night and get some sleep.  There’s something to be said for getting to sleep in your own bed!

 

3 thoughts on “Home For a Reset

  1. Pingback: Home For a Reset « My Trucking Blog | Mother Trucking Truth

  2. Oh you must post pics of the beautiful scenery for those of us who have not had the opportunity to see many parts of this magnificent country.
    Yes, nothing like sleeping in your own bed.

Leave a Reply

