Cooling My Heels in Parachute…


Well, it’s a strange feeling to me to be in a motel in Parachute, Colorado.  I mean, it’s just a short hop and skip (relatively speaking) from my old home town.  A hop and skip being 2 hours or so over bad roads…

Anyway, I don’t have the option to visit while I’m near this week as family is heading to Denver as I’m heading back south.  I’m sure I’ll get another chance relatively soon though as this seems to be one of our common destinations.

Since I arrived early and have time to kill, I thought I’d chronicle a little of where I’ve been since I got started and just throw some random thoughts out there.

So far I’ve been to Colorado’s eastern slope several times, once to Wyoming just south of Cheyenne, back east to West Virginia and Pennsylvania, down to Arkansas, and now the western slope of Colorado.  Don’t ask me if I’m making money yet.  Truth is, not a lot but everything that comes in has to go back out to pay for the start-up costs we laid out.  So that question might be better asked in a few months once those costs have been covered.

Just looking at it that way, I think we’ll do fine… that is if diesel doesn’t go to even worse heights than it is now (I am looking at $4.04 per gallon across the street right now) and / or if shipping prices go up to compensate us for the skyrocketing price of fuel.

Which brings me to cheap people offering .70 per mile for backhauls… to them I have one thing to say… Suck it up and start offering a realistic price.  Who on earth can even contemplate hauling that cheap??  Not me, that’s for sure.  Let’s see, after the most basic of operating costs that would leave me about… oh, say a big 4 cents per mile and that’s only accounting for diesel.  Not even for wear on the truck, fluids, motels, and such.

So if you’re a wanna be shipper out there, get real!  If you can’t pony up at least a buck seventy-five a mile, I’m afraid your cargo will still be sitting there waiting when and if the price of fuel goes back down.  You won’t work for free and neither will I.

Anyhow, other than that mini-rant, it’s all going as well as it can be right now.  I’m staying busy and will even need a reset after I get home this trip as I’ve been doing some pretty good miles and hours the past week.

But for now I’m sitting here with my feet up eating bon-bons and anticipating a late wake up time of about 7 am since I can’t unload until about 9 when the crane shows up.  And that’s fine with me!

2 thoughts on “Cooling My Heels in Parachute…

  1. This design is irdiecnble! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almosta1adHaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

