What the H E Double Toothpicks…?


To be perfectly honest, last night I had a moment of, “What the hell am I getting myself into?”

You know those moments.  Everyone gets them, especially when starting a venture into the unknown.  It starts as a weird feeling in the pit of your stomach, a little though in the back of your mind that you have become completely detached from anything resembling reality, the fear that you might be making a big mistake…or that you’ve become a complete imbecile overnight.

It kind of freaked me out just a tiny bit, but I decided not to panic, and to just sleep on it and see how I felt in the morning. I think I was on information overload with all of the paperwork I worked on yesterday to get this little hotshot business going.

Thankfully, this morning the nagging feeling was gone.  I sat down today and made lists of things I need to accomplish, paperwork still waiting to be filed, documents I need to send off and get copies of, and a general list of things I have to buy to get myself into this crazy business.  That helped a lot!

I do better when I’m actually taking steps,  no matter how small, toward a tangible goal.  Overall, so far, I’ve really gotten a lot done, and have a clear picture of what is yet to be finished.

Also, my new boss/broker/or whatever you want to call him, called today.  He had some good advice on things to think about regarding the equipment choices I’m making.

And I may turn him from a Dodge guy into a Ford guy.  Seems a F550 passed him on the road and he liked what he saw.  (“That was one good lookin’ truck!” said he…)  I warned him that I’m a Ford die-hard fan, and that the condition can be contagious. That said, we’ll have to see how the F550 performs.  I personally think it will kick butt and be extremely durable, as all of my former Ford trucks have done and been over the past 20 years.

So for now, I’m just slaving away doing little steps on the road to becoming my own carrier and eventually, my own boss.  If it works out well with my current boss guy, I’ll stick with him as a leased O/O even after I get my authority all approved, as it seems he has plenty of work to go around.

Leave a Reply

